Seven women playwrights named as finalists for 2016 Primus Prize
Monday, January 23, 2017 at 1:26PM
Operations Manager

ATCA has just announced the seven finalists for the 2016 Francesca Primus Prize, given annually to an emerging woman playwright. Jointly sponsored by ATCA and the Francesca Ronnie Primus Foundation, it carries an award of $10,000. The winner will be announced later this year.

The seven finalists are Mia Chung for “You for Me for You,” Cheryl Davis for “Maid’s Door,” Laura Jacqmin for “Look, we are breathing,” Martyna Majok for “Ironbound,” Melissa Ross for “Nice Girl,” Stephanie Walker for “The Art of Disappearing” and Lauren Yee for “in a word.”

The finalists were selected from 26 applicants by a nationwide committee of critics, chaired by Barbara Bannon (Salt Lake City, UT). For descriptions of the plays, names of the theaters where they premiered and the members of the award committee, click here. For a fuller description of the award, with information about applying and a list of previous winners, click here.

Article originally appeared on American Theatre Critics Association (
See website for complete article licensing information.