« Executive Committee | Main

Other committee chairs, etc.

Victor Gluck, chair Ethics Committee
Gluck was a drama critic and arts journalist with Back Stage, 1980-2006. In 2006, he started reviewing for TheaterScene.net, where he was Associate Editor, 2011-13, and has been Editor-in-Chief since 2014. His theater reviews have also appeared in Our Town, New York Guide/Wisdoms Child, East Side Express, The Brooklyn Spectator and The Brooklyn Times, Downtown Manhattan, The Native, Night and Day, C.A.B., The Shakespeare Bulletin, and Stages Magazine. Three of his cover stories for Back Stage were reprinted in the first two editions of The Backstage Handbook for Performing Artists. Also a playwright, his work has been performed in New York at the Quaigh Theatre, Ryan Repertory Company, St. Clements Church, Nuyorican Poets Café and The Gene Frankel Playwrights/Directors Lab. He is a voting member of the Drama Desk, the Outer Critics Circle and Dramatist Guild, and was an NCI/O’Neill fellow the summer August Wilson made his debut there.

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair International Committee
Jenkins is Professor of Theatre and Head of the Department of Theatre at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. A former chair of ATCA and former president of Foundation ATCA, Jenkins has published articles in major newspapers, reference books and scholarly journals and edited Under the Copper Beech, which chronicles ATCA’s early days. He took degrees in research and studio concentrations from the University of East Anglia (UK)Carnegie Mellon University, and San Francisco State University. Jenkins has directed more than two dozen productions in theatres across the United States, and served on the management team of Peter Brook’s productions of The Mahabharata and The Cherry Orchard at BAM. He serves on the board of trustees of the American Theatre Wing, on the board of producers of Krannert Center for the Performing Arts, and as a dramaturgical consultant to productions in development. In 2014, he became a vice president of the International Association of Theatre Critics (AICT-IATC) during its World Congress in Beijing.

Chris Rawson, chair Communications CommitteeRawson with high school winners of the 2015 Rawson Kelly Critics Award
Rawson is senior theater critic at KDKA-TV and at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, where he semi-retired after 25 years as full-time theater editor and critic. Covering August Wilson’s career since 1984, he wrote about him more extensively than any other journalist; see his August Wilson: Pittsburgh Places in His Life and Plays, co-authored by Laurence Glasco. With degrees from Harvard and the University of Washington, for 40+ years he has taught English lit at the University of Pittsburgh, mainly Shakespeare, criticism, satire and Wilson. For ATCA, he served twice as excom chair (six years), chaired three national conferences and now moderates the website (front page, info, archives). He is secretary of Foundation ATCA and chairs the selection process for the national Theatre Hall of Fame.

Mark Lowry, chair Membership Services Committee

 Mark was a staff writer and theater critic at the Fort Worth Star-Telegram from 1998 to 2008, where he also wrote about dance, opera, dining, music and pop culture. Since 2014, he has served on Harold and Mimi Steinberg/New Play Award panel. In 2003, he was selected for a fellowship at the National Critics Institute at the Eugene O’Neill Theater Center in Waterford, Connecticut. He co-founded TheaterJones.com in early 2009, and has served as its editor-in-chief since 2010. TheaterJones covers the performing arts — theater, classical music, opera, dance, comedy — in Dallas-Fort Worth and occasionally events on the regional and national scene. The company is expanding and has even bigger plans for 2018 and beyond. (photo: Robert Hart)

References (2)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.
  • Response
    Response: internet site
    American Theatre Critics Association - Leadership Bios - Other committee chairs,
  • Response
    American Theatre Critics Association - Leadership Bios - Other committee chairs,

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.
Editor Permission Required
You must have editing permission for this entry in order to post comments.