2017 Osborn Award
Thursday, February 24, 2011 at 5:01PM
Operations Manager

The American Theatre Critics Association is pleased to announce that Nate Eppler has won the 2017 M. Elizabeth

Nate Eppler and Osborn plaque Osborn New Play Award for an emerging playwright. The award will be presented at the Humana Festival of New American Plays in Louisville on April 8. The Osborn Award recognizes Eppler’s “The Ice Treatment,” which was premiered in July, 2016, presented by Actors Bridge Ensemble in partnership with Nashville Repertory Theatre.

(Click here for Nashville Arts Critic April 9 report of Eppler’s acceptance speech.) 

 Click to read more …


2016 Osborn Award

Jonathan Norton has won the 2016 M. Elizabeth Osborn New Play Award for an emerging playwright. The award was Jonathan Nortonpresented at the Humana Festival of New American Plays in Louisville on April 9. The Osborn Award recognizes Norton’s “Mississippi Goddamn,” which premiered in February, 2015 at the South Dallas Cultural Center, directed by Vickie Washington. (Read more.)


2015 Osborn Award

During the Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre of Louisville, the 2015 M. Elizabeth Osborn Award, which recognizes emerging playwrights, was presented to Tom Coash of Atlanta for his play Veils, aPlaywright Tom Coash unique look at the differences and similarities between America and the Middle East as viewed in the clashing sensibilities of women’s rights and traditional roles in both civilizations. Two young Muslim women attending the American Egyptian University in Cairo just before the anarchic Arab Spring in 2010 are complex three-dimensional characters, with the American the more traditional of the two while the Egyptian is enamored of western pop culture. But both are searching for sustaining definitions of how they should lead their lives in order to honor both their faith and their integrity in the world. Its premiere was held in February 2014 at Portland Stage in Maine.

The 2014 Winner

ATCA announces that Topher Payne has won its 2014 M. Elizabeth Osborn New Play Award for an emerging

Playwright Topher Payneplaywright. The award will be presented April 5 at the Humana Theater Festival at Actor’s Theatre of Louisville.

The Osborn Award recognizes Payne’s play, Perfect Arrangement, which premiered in June 2013 at The Source Festival in Washington D.C., directed by Linda Lombardi. The award is designed to recognize the work of an author who has not yet achieved national stature. Last year it went to Keri Healey for Torso. Previous winners have included Yussef El Guindi, Rebecca Gilman, Keith Glover and Richard Kalinoski.

For more about Payne and Perfect Arrangement, click here for full press release.

Recent Winners

Keri Healey wins 2013 M. Elizabeth Osborn New Play Award. Read press release.

Playwright Darren Canady wins 2012 M. Elizabeth Osborn New Play Award. Read press release.

Playwright Cori Thomas wins 2011 M. Elizabeth Osborn Award
Read press release.

Playwright Jason Wells wins 2010 M. Elizabeth Osborn Award
Read press release.


Playwright Yussef El Guindi wins 2009 M. Elizabeth Osborn Award
Read Press Release

ATCA honors Playwright Elyzabeth Gregory Wilder with 2008 M. Elizabeth Osborn Award
Read Press Release

Complete Roster of Osborn Winners

(The gap for 2007 is intentional, because the dating changed: instead of dating the award  by the year the play premiered, it is now dated by the year in which it is presented.)

2017: Nate Eppler, The Ice Treatment, Actors Bridge Ensemble/Nashville Repertory Theatre.

2016: Jonathan Norton, Mississippi Godddamn, South Dallas Cultural Center.

2015: Tom Coash, Veils, Portland Stage, Maine.
2014: Topher Payne, Perfect Arrangement, The Source Festioval, Washington, D.C.

2013: Keri Healey, Torso, Printers Devil Theatre, Seattle.
2012: Darren Canady, Brothers of the Dust, Congo Square Theatre, Chicago.
2011: Cori Thomas, When January Feels Like Summer, City Theatre, Pittsburgh.
2010: Jason Wells, Perfect Mendacity, Asolo Repertory Theatre.
2009: Yussel El Guindi, Our Enemies: Lively Scenes of Love and Combat, Silk Road Theatre Project, Chicago.

2008: Elyzabeth Gregory Wilder, Gee’s Bend, Alabama Shakespeare Festival.
2006: Ken LaZebnik, Vestibular Sense, Mixed Blood Theatre Company, Minneapolis.
2005: J.T. Rogers, Madagascar, Salt Lake Acting Company, Salt Lake City.
2004: Rolin Jones, The Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow, South Coast Repertory, Costa Mesa, CA.
2003: John Walch, The Dinosaur Within, State Theatre, Austin.
2002: Mia McCullough, Chagrin Falls, Stage Left Theatre, Chicago.
2001: S.M. Shephard-Massat, Waiting to be Invited, Denver Center Theatre Company.
2000: Coby Goss, Marked Tree, Senachai Theatre, Chicago.
1999: Dan O’Brien, Lamarck, Perishable Theatre Company, Providence.
1998: Rebecca Gilman, Glory, Circle Theatre, Chicago.
1997: Keith Glover, Thunder Knocking at the Door, Alabama Shakespeare Festival and Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park.
1996: Richard Kalinoski, Beast on the Moon, Humana Festival, Actors Theatre of Louisville.
1995: Charlie Varon, Rush Limbaugh in High School, The Marsh Theatre, San Francisco.
1994: Anne Galjour, Hurricane, San Francisco Solo Mio Festival.




Article originally appeared on American Theatre Critics Association (http://americantheatrecritics.org/).
See website for complete article licensing information.