Primus Prize History

Playwright Michele Lowe, 2010 Primus winnerFounded in 1997, the Primus Prize was until 2002 administered by the Denver Center Theatre Company and limited to emerging women playwrights. Since 2004, a woman in any category of theater has been eligible, with the prize administered by the nationwide American Theatre Critics Association, comprising critics in all media.

Playwright Michele Lowe wins $10,000 Francesca Primus Prize for 2010.

Read Press Release 


Jamie Pachino Wins 2009 Primus Prize

Playwright Jamie Pachino wins $10,000 Francesca Primus Prize for 2009;  Jennifer Haley and Kathryn Walat also cited.

Read Press Release


Full list of Primus winners
(NOTE that the prize is dated in the year that the winning work was done, although it is awarded in the year following.)   

2017 - Martyna Majok, playwright, for Cost of Living

2016 - Lauren Yee, playwright, for in a word 

2015 - Sharyn Rothstein, playwright, for By the Water

2014 - Jennifer Haley, playwright, for The Nether.

2013 - Stefanie Zadravec, playwright, for The Electric Baby; additional commendation to director Lear deBessonet.

2012 - Tammy Ryan, playwright, for Lost Boy Found in Whole Foods; additional commendation to playwright Dominique Morisseau for Follow Me to Nellie’s. 

2011—Caridad Svich, playwright, The House of the Spirits

2010—Michele Lowe, playwright, Inana.

2009—Jamie Pachino, playwright, Splitting Infinity;
also citations to playwrights Jennifer HaleyNeighborhood 3: Requisition of Doom, and Kathryn WalatBleeding Kansas

2008—EM (Ellen) Lewis, playwright, Heads

2007—Victoria Stewart, playwright, Hardball

2006—Karen Zacarías, playwright, Mariela in the Desert, and founder/artistic director, Young Playwrights’ Theater, Washington, D.C.

2005—Michelle Hensley, artistic director, Ten Thousand Things Theatre Company, Minneapolis, Minn.

2004—Lynn Nottage, playwright, Intimate Apparel

The Primus Prize was originally administered by the Denver Center Theatre Company. ATCA began overseeing the award in 2004.

2002—Alexandra Cunningham, playwright, Pavane

2001—S.M. Shepard-Massat, playwright, Some Place Soft to Fall

2000—Brooke Berman, playwright, Playing House

1999—Melanie Marnich, playwright, Blur

1998—Brooke Berman, playwright, Wonderland

1997—Julia Jordan, playwright, Tatjana in Color

Page 1 2