The Steinberg/ATCA Award -- recent history


April 6, 2013 — At tonight’s Humana Festival of New Plays,Robert Schenkkan ATCA named Robert Schenkkan’s meditation on power and pragmatism, All The Way, the recipient of the 2013 Harold and Mimi Steinberg/American Theatre Critics Association New Play Award, recognizing a script that premiered outside New York City during 2012. Schenkkan’s play about Lyndon Johnson’s dogged campaign to pass the Civil Rights Act of 1964 received the top award of $25,000.

Two citations that carry $7,500 each were presented to Lucas Hnath for Death Tax and Johnna Adams forGidion’s Knot. Read more here.

Video clips of the ceremony kindly provided by Pam HarbaughJim Steinberg of the Steinberg Charitable Trust; presentations by Bill Hirschman to Robert Schenkkan (“All the Way”) and citation winners Johnna Adams (“Gideon’s Knot”) and Lucas Hnath (“Death Tax”).


March 31, Louisville, The Humana Festival  — ATCA has named Yussef El Guindi’s Pilgrims Musa and Sheri in the New World, a play about immigration and assimilation, winner of the $25,000 Harold and Mimi Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award for 2012.

The Steinberg/ATCA recognizes the best American scripts that premiered professionally the previous year outside New York City. Ken LaZebnik’s On the Spectrum and A. Rey Pamatmat’s Edith Can Shoot Things and Hit Them received $7,500 Steinberg/ATCA citations.

For more on the 2012 Steinberg/ATCA awards, click here

For the six finalists for the award, which also included Sharr White’s AnnapurnaCaitlin Montanye Parrish’s A Twist of Water and Quiara Alegria Hudes’ Water By The Spoonful,” click here


Winner of the $25,000 Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award for 2011 is Bill Cain’s “Nine Circles,”a harrowing play about war and redemption. Kathryn Grant’s “The Good Counselor” and David Bar Katz’s “The History of Invulnerability” received Steinberg/ATCA citations and $7,500 each. Both Grant and Katz are first-time winners, but Cain won the Steinberg/ATCA Award last year for “Equivocation” – the first consecutive wins ever, although other playwrights (Jane Martin, August Wilson, Lee Blessing) have won it (or its predecessor award) more than once. For more on the 2011 Steinberg/ATCA Award, click here.

For the six finalists for the award, which also included Rinne Groff’s “Compulsion,” Lisa D’Amour’s “Detroit” and Emily Schwend’s “Splinters,” read more here.


Winner of the 2010 Steinberg/ATCA Award is Bill Cain for “Equivocation,” his fantasy-comedy-drama about Shakespeare, Jacobean skulduggery, bigotry and the relationship of art to government and artists’ personal responsibility to truth. The two citations, including plaques and $7,500 each, went to “Time Stands Still,” by Donald Margulies, and “Legacy of Light,” by Karen Zacarías.

Read more about the 2010 Steinberg/ATCA Award.

See the six finalists for the 2010 Steinberg/ATCA Award.


E.M. Lewis’ “Song of Extinction” wins 2009 $25,000 Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award; $7,500 Citations for Lee Blessing and Tracy Letts

Read Press Release


2008 Steinberg/ATCA Winners announced: Moises Kaufman’s “33 Variations” takes top honors

Read Press Release 

GO TO PAGE 2 (below) for complete list of winners.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend