The Harold and Mimi Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award

The Harold and Mimi Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award for a play that premiered outside New York City (currently $25,000), with two additional citations (currently $7,5000 each). Six finalists are announced in advance. Generously funded by The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust.

The M. Elizabeth Osborn Award

The M. Elizabeth Osborn Award (currently $3,000). Given by ATCA, in memory of Theatre Communications Group and American Theatre play editor M. Elizabeth Osborn, to recognize the work of an author whose plays have not yet received a major production, such as off-Broadway or Broadway, nor received other major national awards.

The Francesca Primus Prize

The Francesca Primus Prize for an Emerging Woman Theater Artist ($10,000). Funded through the generosity of the Francesca Ronnie Primus Foundation, which honors the writer, critic, performer, dramaturg, ATCA member and good friend who died at 42 of lung cancer in 1992. Six finalists are announced.

ATCA plays a role in two awards
administered by others.

Tony® Award for Regional Theatre

Beginning in 1976, The American Theatre Wing agreed to a proposal on behalf of The American Theatre Critics Association to present a Special Tony Award for Regional Theatre.

Theater Hall of Fame

Inscribed in raised gold letters on the walls of the upper rotundas of Broadway’s Gershwin Theatre are the names of the more than 500 members of the Theater Hall of Fame.