Call For Submissions For 2018 Primus Prize

Call For Submissions For 2018 Primus Prize

ATCA invites submissions for the 2018 Francesca Primus Prize, an annual $10,000 playwriting award honoring outstanding contributions to the American theater by an emerging female playwright who has not yet achieved national prominence. The prize is made possible through the generosity of the Francesca Ronnie Primus Foundation and honors the writer, critic, performer, dramaturg, and cherished ATCA member who died at 42 of lung cancer in 1992.

The Primus Prize operates on an open submission basis. An applicant may submit herself or be nominated by another individual or organization. Members of ATCA may nominate applicants or provide letters of recommendation. To qualify for consideration, a playwright must have had a fully staged, professional production of her script within the calendar year 2017. It does not have to be the play’s world premiere. The committee also considers the applicant’s body of work going back several years.

The deadline is MAY 1, 2018.

A submission must take the form of a full digital copy of the play to be considered and a portfolio of no more than twenty single-sided pages. It should include a letter recommending the candidate, a synopsis of her body of work, and supporting materials sufficient to familiarize the committee with her achievements, possibly including reviews and/or a statement of the artist’s philosophy. Only one play may be submitted per candidate, but excerpts from or reviews of others may be submitted as part of the portfolio. Portfolios will not be returned.

(NOTE: In some previous years, theater artists other than playwrights were invited to apply. For 2018, only playwrights will be considered, although other theater work may be described as part of the applicant’s body of work.)

The committee selects several finalists for the award and then chooses a winner from among them. After receiving the check, the recipient is invited to a subsequent ATCA conference for a small recognition ceremony.

To apply, applicants should send an e-mail with their portfolio as a single attachment (PDF file preferred) and the produced playscript as a separate attachment to Robert Sokol at Be sure and include Primus Prize Submission in the subject line. Upon receipt of the submission you will be invoiced electronically for a $25 processing fee. If you don’t have the portfolio or the script in electronic form, send a printed copy of both to:

Robert Sokol, Operations Manager
584 Castro Street – #119
San Francisco, CA 94114

If you have questions about the application process, call Robert at 415.964.8040 or contact him via email. Send any other inquiries regarding the Primus Prize chair Barbara Bannon via email.

The deadline for submissions is May 1, 2018.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.