Court Theatre in Chicago to receive 2022 Regional Theatre Tony Award

Court Theatre in Chicago to receive 2022 Regional Theatre Tony Award

May 18 — The Tony Awards® Administration Committee has announced that based on the recommendation by the American Theatre Critics Association, Court Theatre will be the recipient of the 2022 Regional Theatre Tony Award. The honor is accompanied by a grant of $25,000, made possible by the support of City National Bank. The award will be presented to Court Theatre at the 75th annual Tony Awards at the legendary Radio City Music Hall in New York City.

One of the most coveted honors in the entertainment industry, the Regional Theatre Tony Award honors a non-profit professional regional theatre company in the United States that has displayed a continuous level of artistic achievement contributing to the growth of theater nationally. It is awarded by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

“We are thrilled to present the 2022 Regional Theatre Tony Award to Court Theatre,” said Heather Hitchens, President and CEO of the American Theatre Wing and Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League. “Their dedication to fostering local talent, artistry and theatre within their community and their impact on a national scale, makes it a true honor to highlight their work.”

Now in its 67th season, Court is the sixth Chicago theater to be recognized with this award, following Lookingglass Theatre Company (2011), Chicago Shakespeare Theater (2008), Victory Gardens Theatre (2001), Goodman Theatre (1992), and Steppenwolf Theatre (1985). It has been eleven years since a Chicago theatre has received this acknowledgement.

Academy Award winner and Tony nominee Ariana DeBose will host The 75th Annual Tony Awards, airing live coast-to-coast, on Sunday, June 12th (8:00-11:00 PM, LIVE ET/5:00-8:00 PM, LIVE PT) on the CBS Television Network, and streaming live and on demand on Paramount+. Julianne Hough and Darren Criss will host “The Tony Awards: Act One,” one hour of exclusive content streaming live, only on Paramount+ (7:00-8:00 PM, ET/4:00-5:00 PM, PT.)

The Regional Theatre Tony Award, initially called the Special Tony Award for Regional Theatre, began when a committee of senior ATCA members pitched the idea to then-Tony-producer Alex Cohen. The first award was in 1976 to Arena Stage (Washington, DC). Each year since ATCA has involved its nationwide membership in a confidential process which leads to a recommendation to the Tony Committee. For an updated list of all winners, click here.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.