Double Play: 2011, 2012 Hewes Design Awards

Double Play: 2011, 2012 Hewes Design Awards

Two years of the Henry Hewes Design Awards, unique in taking into consideration all productions in New York’s five boroughs, whether on Broadway, Off or Off-Off, were presented on Monday, Jan. 28, at a luncheon in the midtown theater district. Honored for 2011 were John Lee Beatty, Jeff Croiter, William Ivey Long, David Rockwell, John Batwin and Robin Doe; for 2012, David Korins, Brian MacDevitt, Gregg Barnes and Daniel Kluger. The event was emceed by HHDA committee chair Jeffrey Eric Jenkins; attending were Hewes’ widow, Jane, and two of their sons, Tucker and Havelock.

Begun in 1965 and initially named the Maharam Awards and later the American Theatre Wing Design Awards, in 1999 they were re-named for the awards’ initiator, Hewes, the long-time Saturday Evening Post critic (1952-77) and co-founder of ATCA. The awards are given in four categories.

The HHDA Committee includes Jenkins, Dan Bacalzo, David Barbour, David Cote, Glenda Frank, Mario Fratti, Helen Shaw and Joan Ungaro.

Jeffrey Jenkins presides
Havelock, Jane and Tucker Hewes
Susan Hillferty and William Ivey Long
“Follies” costume by Gregg Barnes

Scenic Design: John Lee Beatty, “The Whipping Man” (Manhattan Theatre Club) Lighting Design: Jeff Croiter, “Peter and the Starcatcher” (N.Y. Theatre Workshop)
Costume Design: William Ivey Long, “The School for Lies” (Classic Stage)
Notable Effects: David Rockwell, scenic, “The Normal Heart,” and John Batwin and Robin Doe (Batwin + Robin), projections, “The Normal Heart.”

Scenic Design: David Korins, “Chinglish” (Broadway)
Lighting Design: Brian MacDevitt, “Death of a Salesman” (Broadway)
Costume Design: Gregg Barnes, “Follies” (Broadway)
Notable Effects — Sound: Daniel Kluger, “Tribes” (Barrow Street)

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.