Eight to be inducted into Theatre Hall of Fame

Eight to be inducted into Theatre Hall of Fame

Sept. 27 — Three actors, a director, music director, librettist, playwright and one who defies category make up the eight 2010 selections of the Theater Hall of Fame, to be inducted ceremoniously on Jan. 24, 2011, beneath the names of more than 400 previous members on the walls of Broadway’s Gershwin Theatre.

The inductees are actors Brian Dennehy, Linda Lavin and Fritz Weaver; director Michael Blakemore; music director Paul Gemignani; librettist James Lapine: playwright Caryl Churchill; and the multi-dimensional Joseph Chaikin (deceased). (Apologies that an earlier version of this list incorrectly included Paul Sills.)

ATCA members form the major part of the Hall of Fame electorate, which also includes Hall members and selected theater historians, notables and other critics. The Hall of Fame is administered by Terry Hodge Taylor. Click here for more on the Hall of Fame.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.