Pasadena Playhouse to receive 2023 Regional Theatre Tony Award

Pasadena Playhouse to receive 2023 Regional Theatre Tony Award

May 23 — The Tony Awards® Administration Committee has announced that based on the recommendation by the American Theatre Critics Association, Pasadena Playhouse will be the recipient of the 2023 Regional Theatre Tony Award. The honor is accompanied by a grant of $25,000, and will be presented at the 76th annual Tony Awards on June 11, 2023 in New York City.

Pasadena Playhouse reflections on the award here.

One of the most coveted honors in the entertainment industry, the Regional Theatre Tony Award honors a non-profit professional regional theatre company in the United States that has displayed a continuous level of artistic achievement contributing to the growth of theater nationally. It is awarded by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

“We are thrilled to present the 2023 Regional Theatre Tony Award to Pasadena Playhouse,” said Heather Hitchens, President and CEO of the American Theatre Wing and Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League. “Pasadena Playhouse has made a significant impact – on both a local and global level, by developing some of the most innovative and inspiring works and artists.”

Founded in 1917 in Los Angeles County just minutes from downtown LA, Pasadena Playhouse, the official State Theater of California, is internationally recognized for its significant role in the development of American theater. One of the most prolific theaters in the country, the Playhouse has staged thousands of original productions including premieres of works by Tennessee Williams, Eugene O’Neill, Suzan Lori Parks and hundreds more.

The Regional Theatre Tony Award, initially called the Special Tony Award for Regional Theatre, began when a committee of senior ATCA members pitched the idea to then-Tony-producer Alex Cohen. The first award was in 1976 to Arena Stage (Washington, DC). Each year since ATCA has involved its nationwide membership in a confidential process which leads to a recommendation to the Tony Committee. For an updated list of all winners, click here.

Additional coverage:

May 23, 2023 LA Times (Charles McNulty)
May 23, 2023 Broadway World (Blair Ingenthron)
May 23, 2023 Deadline (Greg Evans)
May 23, 2023 Broadway Briefing (Ruthie Fierberg)
May 23, 2023 Playbill (Logan Culwell-Block)

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.