Theater Hall of Fame inducts 8 + 4

Theater Hall of Fame inducts 8 + 4

Jan. 27 — Monday saw eight new names join more than 400 others in raised gold letters on the walls of the Gershwin Theatre, the 2010 class of the Theater Hall of Fame:

Charles Strouse and Fritz Weaver
Linda Lavin
Previous inductes Willa Kim and William Ivey Long

actors Brian Dennehy, Linda  Lavin, and Fritz Weaver; director Michael Blakemore; playwright Caryl Churchill; music director Paul Gemignani; director-librettist James Lapine; and, posthumously, director-actor-playwright Joseph Chaikin. Presenters included Hal Prince, Roger Berlind, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Robert Falls, Alexander Gemignani, James Houghton, and James Nicola. Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, speaking for the Hall’s Veterans Committee (made up of several ATCAns), inducted four more notables: Alice Childress, Henry Irving, Philip Moeller, and Florence Reed.

Click here for more about the inductees;
here for snapshots of the post-induction party;
and here for a full Pittsburgh Post-Gazette report on the ceremony.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.