Theater Hall of Fame inducts 8

Theater Hall of Fame inducts 8

Ellen Burstyn and Betty Buckley (Aubrey Reuben photos)

The Theater Hall of Fame, for which ATCA members are the bulk of the electorate, inducted its class of 2013 on Jan. 27 at Broadway’s Gershwin Theatre: Ellen Burstyn (inducted by Betty Buckley), Lorraine Hansberry (posthumously, by Phylicia Rashad), David Hays (daughter Julia Hays), Cherry Jones (Zachary Quinto), Cameron Mackintosh (in absentia, by Robert Wankel), Lynne Meadow (Sarah Jessica Parker), George C. Wolfe Jr. (John Guare) and Jerry Zaks (Jack Viertel). Emcee Joel Grey started the evening with a customized version of “Welkommen” from Cabaret.

The fullest account of the evening (click here) is in the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

For an extraordinary induction speech, given by Julia Hays about her father, David (whom ATCA members cannot have fully known when they voted for him), click here

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.