Theatre Hall of Fame inducts 8

Theatre Hall of Fame inducts 8

Producer Tom Kirdahy, Hall member Terrence McNally and Hall inductee F. Murray Abraham. (Photo by Aubrey Reuben)

The 2014 class of the Theatre Hall of Fame was finally induced Monday, May 4, at the Gershwin Theatre. Chosen in 2014 by an electorate made up primarily of ATCA, plus members of the Hall, the ceremony originally scheduled for Jan. 26 had to be postponed because of a Broadway-closing blizzard.

Frank Rich and Chris Rawson

The only changes were that the original emcee, Jim Dale, wasn’t available, so had to be replaced by a very capable Pia Lindstrom, and inductee Alvin Epstein couldn’t make the trip, but was inducted by Cherry Jones. The other seven inductees: F. Murray Abraham (presented by Brian Kulick), Blythe Danner (Lynne Meadow), Frank Rich (Rocco Landesman), Susan Stroman (Andre Bishop), Marshall W. Mason (John Lee Beatty), Philip J. Smith (Robert Wankel, pinch-hitting for Bernadette Peters) and Alfred Uhry (Dana Ivey). The audience of some 125 was replete with industry notables.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.