Awards and Honors

ATCA presents three annual awards:

The Harold and Mimi Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award for a play which premiered outside New York City (currently $25,000), with two additional citations (currently $7,5000 each). Six finalists are announced in advance. Generously funded by The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust. More information here.

The M. Elizabeth Osborn Award (currently $1,000). Given by ATCA, in memory of Theatre Communications Group and American Theatre play editor M. Elizabeth Osborn, to recognize the work of an author whose plays have not yet received a major production, such as off-Broadway or Broadway, nor received other major national awards. More information here.

The Francesca Primus Prize for an Emerging Woman Theater Artist ($10,000). Funded through the generosity of the Francesca Ronnie Primus Foundation, which honors the writer, critic, performer, dramaturg, ATCA member and good friend who died at 42 of lung cancer in 1992. Six finalists are announced. More information here.


ATCA also plays an important role in two major awards administered by others.

Tony® Award  for Regional Theater

Click to read…

Theater Hall of Fame

Click to read…