Foundation ATCA elects new board and officers

Foundation ATCA elects new board and officers

New York — The Foundation of the American Theatre Critics Association held its new year formation meeting on Aug. 14, 2023 and elected new members to the board and a slate of officers. Jay Handelman of the Sarasota Herald-Tribune was re-elected as president of the non-profit foundation. Martha Wade Steketee was re-elected vice president, Rick Pender was re-elected as secretary, and Chris Byrne was re-elected as treasurer.

The Foundation’s board is made up of the nine members of the ATCA Executive Committee, plus six outside (“”Class B””) members. Re-elected to Class B board positions were Handelman, Steketee, Pender, Jonathan Abarbanel, Chris Rawson, and Kelundra Smith.

The Foundation is a 501 ( c ) 3, tax-exempt organization that provides scholarships, support for the National Critics Institute, travel grants, and other programs. It provides all the funding for the annual Osborn New Play Prize for emerging playwrights. The Foundation also wholly or partially funds Initiatives honoring past members of the organization, the Helbing Mentorship Program and the Edward Medina Prize.

All ATCA members are members of the Foundation, and anyone is eligible to apply for grants to support their own work, research, or travel. For more information, contact Jay Handelman at

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.